Medical Directors Council

A shiny silver caduceus

The NASMHPD Medical Directors Council conducts its work under the auspices of the National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors (NASMHPD). Authorized by the Board of Directors in 1995, the Council's membership includes medical directors from state mental health authorities from across the country. The Council's activities are guided by members of an Executive Committee and a NASMHPD staff liaison who develop an annual work plan.

Issues of concern to members of the NASMHPD Medical Directors Council include: identifying clinical best practices for people with mental illnesses; improving state psychiatric hospital administration, appropriately utilizing new psychotropic medications; and exploring the use of treatment algorithms, among many others.

The primary mission and objectives of the Council are to:

  1. Identify emerging clinical issues impacting state mental health authorities and the public mental health service delivery system;
  2. Provide advice and guidance to NASMHPD members and staff alike on best practices and policy for these issues;
  3. Provide forums to encourage states to share planning, programming, and research and evaluation findings to improve public mental health services; and
  4. Foster peer-to-peer information sharing, and encourage collaborative responses to identified technical assistance needs in states.